Who is this?

It’s not often these days that I write songs. In fact, I started a song in June and finally finished it in October. Before that, I can’t even think of when I wrote a song.

Today I was connected to the Lord. I was playing for him. Then this all stumbled out within ten minutes.

Many of my songs start with questions. This is no exception.

Who is This?

Who is this who would lay down his life
so that I could enter in?
Who is this with his arms open wide
even though he knows my sin?

His name is Jesus.
He’s the one I love.
Jesus, I’m entranced by all he does.
and he lives in this little heart of mine
and he is mine for all time.

Who is this at the Father’s right hand,
declaring I am welcomed there?
Who is this with his ear toward man,
hearing all our silly prayers?

His name is Jesus.
He’s the one I love.
Jesus, I am moved by all he does.
and he lives in this little heart of mine
and he is mine for all time.

Jesus…

Who is this with his heart poured out
erasing all my sin and shame?
Who is this who withstands my doubt;
Lord of all, still he knows my name?

His name is Jesus.
He’s the one I love.
Jesus, I am saved by all he does.
He lives in this little heart of mine
and he is mine for all time.

This little heart of mine, for all time.
This little heart of mine, for all time.
This little heart of mine, for all time.
He is mine, he is mine, he is mine.

Leave a Reply

