There is such thing as a tesseract.

In her popular book, A Wrinkle in Time, Madeleine L’Engle introduced me to a tesseract as a way of traveling. The idea is that the shortest route between point A and point B is not a straight line, but would be to bring points A and B together, eliminating the distance between them entirely. This tesseract creates a wrinkle in time as you bypass the journey.

Throughout the course of my life, I’ve spent much time dreaming of tessering – especially as my friends seem to be farther and farther away from me. The thought of tessering is so beautiful and romantic.

I was staring at the blank box to type a new post, trying to figure out what to write about, and went to YouTube to find some music to listen to. As Adam Young started singing and I closed my eyes to think, I was suddenly no longer in California. It was night, driving to camp, and Graham had just excitedly put his new Owl City CD in the CD player. and just like that, I was suddenly in the car with Deryn, Mejee, and an entire summer’s worth of stuff. Almost immediately, it was 3 in the morning and I was merging onto I-5 South off of 39th St, about to begin my journey down here.

When I opened my eyes, I realized that I had tessered. Somehow, I had transcended time and space though I had never left. That was just the result of one song (Hello Seattle). There are countless other songs that take me other places; John Mayer’s Love Song for No One takes me back to the Philippines, laying in the only air conditioned room in our house. Jamie Cullum’s cover of Frontin’ takes me to the Starbucks by the Shari’s on Mill Plain and tastes like a caramel frappuccino. Matt Nathanson’s When Everything Meant Everything CD puts me on the road with Mei-Ling, Seattle-bound from Spokane.

This could go on forever. But you get the point.

Life has a soundtrack, but sometimes it’s so obvious that we miss it.

3 thoughts on “There is such thing as a tesseract.

  1. hear hear! music always reminds me of people and places. I love it… even the sad memories are still good. if you’re back in the town of the ‘couv we should hang out, and I should stop bailing on you.

  2. Pingback: now I’ve got my mind back on the open air and you on Highway 1. | justalittlebitlouder

Leave a Reply

