The Moon by Night.

Photo by Alan Grinberg. Please click to go to the original picture. This is where we spent the first hour waiting for the moon. We then went to the Pacifica Pier.

Over the summer, there were a few nights when I couldn’t see the moon. It threw me off, and I’m afraid that my noticing probably made me seem a bit more perceptive than I really am. It was just a fluke that I checked for the moon, looked for its presence in the sky to make me feel right and stable.

In my few months at camp, I fell in love with the universe. Deryn and I once barely made it in to curfew because we were laying in a field waiting for a shooting star, Bradley and I once stood by the dock looking at the stars and discussing our faith, and the Matts and I once laid on the dock and stared at the stars. Those are my fondest memories under the universe this summer, but I know there were so many more.

Yesterday, Stacy told us about how someone said that they needed to experience the Pacifica moonset. She invited us to go along with her, and woke us up at 4 am to watch the moon set over the Pacific. Stacy, Rob, Lauren and myself stumbled into the car and drove around to find a perfect spot.

The moon was high in the sky and we realized it would take longer than we’d originally anticipated; it wasn’t until 6:15 that the moon began to reach the horizon.

But as we stood, waves blowing cold wind at us, Stacy and I commented that the moon was starting to melt away. The moon never fully touched the horizon, as the earth’s shadow consumed it and it just quietly disappeared out of view, like when you watch a movie in widescreen and the credits don’t touch the top of the screen, but rather another ending point.

The sun by day, the moon by night. While we were waiting, Stacy quoted Sara Groves lyrics that say

And I am the moon with no light of my own
Still you have made me to shine
And as I glow in this cold dark night
I know I can’t be a light unless I turn my face to you

Shine on me with your light
Without you I’m a cold dark stone
Shine on me I have no light of my own
You are the sun, you are the sun, you are the sun
And I am the moon

When the moon began to fade, it became so clear how dependent the moon’s beauty is on the sun. Without the sun, the moon is just a giant thing caught in our gravitational pull (right? I am an observer, but no scholar).. the sun shines on it and illuminates our nights.

The sun by day, the sun by night, through the moon. That’s how the body of Christ should be. We should all be moons. In his physical absence, we are his hands and his feet, but without him we are just appendages with nothing inspiring about us. It is the reflection of the Son that makes us shine and continue on his work while he is away from us. And like the moon, we will slowly fade into the shadow of the earth, but will rise again in Christ, coming over the hills on the east. Dawn will break and we will no longer be small reflections of the Son, but we will finally be reunited with Father and Son through the work of the Spirit.

Then we went to the bakery, and all of us except Lauren promptly went back to sleep. As we got back in the car, Stacy asked what we thought of our adventure. Rob said “It was fun!,” I echoed “it was fun!” and Lauren unenthusiastically said “it was fine.” We laughed, and that made the whole thing worth it.

3 thoughts on “The Moon by Night.

  1. Nice writing.

    You are welcome to use my photo, but I think it would be nicer if you put my name in the photo description as well as the link.

    Thanks,
    Alan

  2. Pingback: now I’ve got my mind back on the open air and you on Highway 1. – justalittlebitlouder

Leave a Reply

