Wal-Mart destroys its unsold clothes.

This deeply grieves me. Not because Wal-Mart has the cutest, most desirable clothes. but because we are in a time of economic struggle, where parents can’t afford new clothes for their kids or a long-sleeved shirt that fits or a new pair of shoes that can keep their little feet warm. These are people who live four blocks down, in our city, who are two paychecks away from where we could one day be.

Here is a link to the article I read: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/01/06/hm-wal-mart-destroy-unsol_n_413234.html

I read later that an H&M spokesperson seemed to be shocked by it and assured that it would never happen again, whereas Wal Mart said that it was probably an isolated incident and weren’t looking into it.

But now I’m wondering: what happens to all of the unsold merchandise from all over? There has to be loads and loads of it.

It made me think of what I read sister Marisa and her friends did recently in Nashville. Check it at her blog: http://marisavanhouten.blogspot.com/2009/12/great-garage-sale-giveaway.html .. why not? Why can’t we all have this kind of generosity, not just me and you (though we cannot refuse to be included) but also giant companies who can carelessly toss it out anyway?

So I challenge you all to call up a few stores near you and see what they do with their leftovers. About to expire food, unsold clothing, unsold clearance toys or books? Because there are empty cupboards, cold toes, uninspired kids and families not just across the world (which sometimes is easier to deal with because of distance) but in our neighborhoods, who could use these things.

Does this make anybody else burn with anger?

One thought on “Wal-Mart destroys its unsold clothes.

  1. Confession: I found a suitcase with about 30 items of clothes in it the other day. I had been missing them for about 3 months, but honestly I didn’t even realize they were gone.
    I felt sick to my stomach after I found them.
    So I’ve gone through a lot of my clothes, and I’m either donating them to the same refugee center that worked with Marisa and Annie or sending them Goodwill’s way. It really is ridiculous and shaming how much I have and how little I recognize this.

    On the retail side, I can tell you that the places I’ve worked at, Gymboree and Home Goods, both make charitable donation with any clothes that cannot sell as long as they are not badly damaged.
    Good post,
    Travis

Leave a Reply

