Christmas thoughts.

Mild he lays His glory by
born that man no more may die
born to raise the sons of earth
born to give them second birth.


Christmas is mysterious.
I don’t understand it, but I believe in it as surely as I believe the moon exists.
Last night at Christmas Eve service, while we were singing Hark! the Herald Angels Sing and we got to that part above, I started to cry {shocking and completely out of character, I know…..}. I cried because I want to understand it, to be able to completely grasp the magnitude of the Incarnation.
all night I have been thinking about Mary’s faith. Joseph’s surrender. the humility of Jesus.
and mostly.
and this seems to be the easiest but hardest to understand.
God’s overwhelming desire to reconcile us to himself.

another Moses wouldn’t do.

our liberation from sin needed God himself.
he got his hands dirty. he held nothing back.
but he wanted us.
passionately and completely.

I look at my life, a humble attempt at serving God, and quickly decide that Jesus-in-a-manger was a love story written for people like Hugh and Gretchen, or people like Pastor Matt or Katie Helms or Bradley. You know, really amazing people. Surely the Word become flesh was like birthday cake at someone else’s birthday party; intended for someone else, but I just get to enjoy a little bit with some ice cream.

but I know it’s not true, and I know that my name is on the cake. the celebration, the baby, the urgency.. it was all for me. it is part of my love story. it is a part of your love story.

wishing we could all be together at Christmas, looking forward to seeing many of you soon. may God drench you in blessings for the remainder of this year and already be making his presence known in the upcoming one.

 

3 thoughts on “Christmas thoughts.

  1. What an amazing thought.
    The Christmas story is John 3:16 all wrapped up in a bundle of swaddling clothes. And, like you said, He came for me. for you. exclusively, he came, not for the world as a whole, but for each individual – exclusively.

  2. This was beautiful. And I’m crying now thinking about it being my intimate celebration too. Darn you Stephanie haha. (Kidding :P) I love that verse too. It still gets me to think about God being a tiny vulnerable baby, so defenceless.
    I hope you had a blessed Christmas!

Leave a Reply

